跳至主內容

香港保安觀察報告 (2021年第三季度)

發佈日期: 2021年12月24日 372 觀看次數

本中心很高興為你帶來2021年第三季度的「香港保安觀察報告」

 

現今,有很多具備上網功能的數碼設備(例如個人電腦、智能手機、平板裝置等),在用戶不知情下被入侵,令儲存在這些設備內的數據,每天要面對被盜取和洩漏,及可能被用於進行不同形式的犯罪活動的風險。

 

《香港保安觀察報告》旨在提高公眾對香港被入侵系統狀況的認知,從而作出更好的資訊保安選擇。這份季度報告提供的數據聚焦在被發現曾經遭受或參與各類型網絡攻擊活動[包括網頁塗改、釣魚網站、惡意程式寄存、殭屍網絡控制中心或殭屍電腦等]的香港系統,其定義為處於香港網絡內,或其主機名稱的頂級域名是「.hk」或「.香港」的系統。

 


報告概要

 

2021年第三季度,涉及香港的單一網絡保安事件共有 7,191 個。數據是從IFAS1 系統收集所得,而並不是來自 HKCERT 所接獲的事故報告。

 

安全事件趨勢: 2021 Q3 有4860 個安全事件, 2021 Q2 有7191 個安全事件, 2021 Q1 有5017 個安全事件, 2020 Q4 有5074 個安全事件, 2020 Q3 有6753 個安全事件

圖1 – 安全事件趨勢

 

2021 年第三季度共有4,860 宗網絡保安事件,較2021 年第二季度的7,191宗下跌32%(圖1)。當中,釣魚網站事件錄得49%的增幅。然而,殭屍網絡(殭屍電腦)和網頁塗改事件卻分別錄得43%及7%的跌幅。惡意程式寄存和殭屍網絡(控制中心)事件均為零宗 (表2)。

 

 

 


與伺服器有關的安全事件

 

與伺服器有關的安全事件有: 惡意程式寄存、釣魚網站和網頁塗改。以下為其趨勢和分佈:

 

與伺服器有關的安全事件的趨勢和分佈

圖2 –與伺服器有關的安全事件的趨勢和分佈

 

事件類別2020 Q32020 Q42021 Q12021 Q22021 Q3
網頁塗改571305295476445
釣魚網站552395495665993
惡意程式寄存9342080

表1 –與伺服器有關的安全事件的趨勢和分佈

 

本季度與伺服器有關的保安事件共有1,438宗,較2021年第二季度的1,149宗上升25% (圖2)。如表 2 所示,釣魚網站數量增加 49%至本季度的 993 個, 涉及釣魚網站的唯一IP 數目增加 ~3%,有 232 個(圖 8),唯一網址/IP 比率則上升 46%至 4.28,表示每個肇事的伺服器平均載有 4 個釣魚網站(圖 9)。

 

在頭 10位的頂層域名當中,最多採用的是  ”.org”域名,佔 30% (圖 3)。幾乎所有  ”.org”域名是與一個免費的動態域名系統服務供應商有關,相信這批網站的目標都是移動裝置用戶,因裝置螢幕太小而相對地更易忽略可疑網址。 ”.com”域名緊隨其後,佔 29%,第三至第五位則分別是 ”.cn”(10%)、 ”.top”(6%)及 ”.bar”(5%)。一些比較少人用的域名亦榜上有名,包括 ”.shop”、 ”.cam” 、”.monster”及 ”.icu”等。部份釣魚網站雖未有使用知名的頂層域名,但會以域名嵌入方法誘騙粗心大意的受害人,例如:hxxps://viewsnet[.]jp[.]dygfpq[.]shop/

 

釣魚網站最常使用的域名 

圖3: 釣魚網站最常使用的域名

 

與上一季度相比,網頁塗改事件下跌 7% 至 2021 年第三季度的 445 宗,所涉及的唯一 IP 地址的數量下跌  2% 至 235 個(圖 6)。而本季的唯一網址 / IP 比率亦下降 5% 至 1.89(圖 7),即每個被入侵的伺服器,平均就會發生 兩宗網頁塗改事件。

 

在受感染的伺服器中,雖然涉及Nginx開源平台的事故宗數下跌了 42% 至2021年第三季的179宗,但仍然是最多被黑客攻擊的網絡伺服器類型。第二位的是Apache,共錄得159宗,較2021年第二季度上升218%。從這兩個平台中,最多使用的入侵方法是透過未修補的保安漏洞和文件包含,然而,本季亦發現配置/管理員的人為錯誤是另一個嚴重的問題。HKCERT 呼籲系統管理員必須保持一個良好的配置管理數據庫,以及檢討變更管理程序以減低人為錯誤的風險。其他受影響平台包括Microsoft IIS 5.0、6.0、7.5、8.5和10.0、Tengine及LiteSpeed。

 

網頁塗改保安事件中,受影響伺服器的作業系統分佈 

圖4: 網頁塗改保安事件中,受影響伺服器的作業系統分佈

 

至於惡意程式寄存,在 2021年第三季度未觀察到相關事件。

 

 

 HKCERT促請系統和應用程式管理員加強保護伺服器

  • 避免黑客入侵已知漏洞,為伺服器、網站應用程式和插件安裝最新修補程式及更新
  • 按照最佳實務守則來管理使用者帳戶和密碼,例如﹕雙重認證,更改所有應用程序的預設密碼
  • 必須核實客戶在網上應用程式的輸入,及系統的輸出
  • 使用網上應用程防火牆 
  • 定期進行滲透測試和漏洞掃描 
  • 定期進行備份

 

 


殭屍網絡相關的安全事件

 

殭屍網絡相關的保安事件可以分為兩類:

  • 殭屍網絡控制中心保安事件 — 涉及少數擁有較強能力的電腦,向殭屍電腦發送指令,受影響的主要是伺服器。
  • 殭屍電腦保安事件 — 涉及到大量的電腦,它們接收來自殭屍網絡控制中心的指令,受影響的主要是個人電腦。

 

殭屍網絡控制中心安全事件

本季度沒有錄得任何殭屍網絡控制中心事件。

 

 

 

殭屍電腦安全事件

以下為殭屍電腦安全事件的趨勢:

 

彊屍網絡控制中心(彊屍電腦)安全事件趨勢: 2021 Q3 有3422個安全事件, 2021 Q2 有6042個安全事件, 2021 Q1 有4227個安全事件, 2020 Q4 有4372個安全事件, 2020 Q3 有4696個安全事件

圖5 - 殭屍電腦安全事件的趨勢

 

對比上一個季度,殭屍網絡(殭屍電腦)事件在本季度下跌 43%至 3,422 宗(圖 5)。雖然 Mirai 數量持續減少,從 2021 年第二季度的 1,713 宗跌至本季度的 1,542 宗, 下跌了 10%,但它仍然在香港網絡內的主要殭屍網絡中名列第一位。第二及第三位分別是Avalanche(425 宗)及 Conficker (309 宗),Avalanche 錄得 75% 的下跌,而 Conficker 錄得2% 的上升。(表 3)。


本季度的五大主要殭屍網絡分別為 Mirai、Avalanche、Conficker、WannaCry和Virut。它們共估所有殭屍網絡(殭屍電腦)事件總數的79%。 

 

 

 

 HKCERT促請使用者保護好電腦,免淪為殭屍網絡的一部分。

  • 安裝最新修補程式及更新
  • 安裝及使用有效的保安防護工具,並定期掃描
  • 設定強密碼以防止密碼容易被破解
  • 不要使用盜版的 Windows 系統,多媒體檔案及軟件
  • 不要使用沒有安全更新的 Windows 系統及軟件

 

自 2013 年 6 月,本中心一直跟進接獲的保安事故,並主動接觸本地互聯網供應商以清除殭屍網絡。清除殭屍網絡的行動仍在進行,針對幾個主要的殭屍網絡家族,包括 Avalanche,  Pushdo, Citadel, Ramnit, ZeroAccess, GameOver Zeus, VPNFilter 及 Mirai。
 
HKCERT呼籲一般用戶加入清除殭屍網絡行動,確保個人電腦並沒有被惡意程式控制或受感染,保護個人資料以提高互聯網的安全性。
 

 

 使用者可HKCERT提供的指引,偵測及清理殭屍網絡

 

 

下載報告

 

< 請按此 下載香港保安觀察報告 >

 


1 Information Feed Analysis System (IFAS) 是HKCERT 建立的系統,用作收集有關香港的環球保安資訊來源中有關香港的保安數據作分析之用

2 參照附錄1 - 資料來源

3 Shodan是用於互聯網連接設備的搜索引擎: https://www.shodan.io/

Skip to main content

Hong Kong Security Watch Report (Q3 2021)

Release Date: 24 Dec 2021 63 Views

HKCERT is pleased to bring to you the "Hong Kong Security Watch Report" for the third quarter of 2021.

 

Nowadays, many networked digital devices, such as computers, smartphones, tablets, are being compromised without the user's knowledge. The data on them may be mined and exposed every day, and even be used for various criminal activities.

 

The Hong Kong Security Watch Report aims to raise public awareness of the problem of compromised systems in Hong Kong, enabling them to make better decision in information security. The data in this quarterly report focuses on the activities of compromised systems in Hong Kong which suffer from, or have participated in various types of cyber attacks, including web defacement, phishing, malware hosting, botnet command and control (C&C) centres or bots. "Computers in Hong Kong'' refer to those whose network geolocation is Hong Kong, or the top level domain of their host name is ".hk'' or “.香港”. 

 


Highlight of Report

 

In 2021 Q3, there were 4,860 unique security events related to Hong Kong used for analysis in this report. Data were collected through IFAS1 , and not from the incident reports received by HKCERT.

 

Trend of security events: 2021 Q3 had 4860 security events, 2021 Q2 had 7191 security events, 2021 Q1 had 5017 security events, 2020 Q4 had 5074 security events, 2020 Q3 had 6753 security events

Figure 1 –Trend of security events

 

There were 4,860 cyber security events in 2021 Q3, down 32% from 2021 Q2 (7,191 events) (Figure 1). Among them, phishing events rose by 49%. On the other hand, Botnet (Bots) and Defacement events reported decreases of 43% and 7% respectively. There was no malware hosting and Botnet [Command and Control (C&C) Centres] event during the report period (Table 2).

 

 

 


Server-related security events

 

Server-related security events include malware hosting, phishing and defacement. Their trends and distributions are summarised below:

 

Trend and distribution of server related security events 

Figure 2 –Trend and distribution of server related security events

 

 

Event Type2020 Q32020 Q42021 Q12021 Q22021 Q3
Defacement571305295476445
Phishing552395495665993
Malware Hosting9342080

 Table 1–Trend and distribution of server related security events

 

There were 1,438 server-related security events in this quarter, up 25% from 2021 Q2 (1,149 events) (Figure 2). As shown in Table 2, the number of phishing sites increased 49% to 993 sites in this quarter. The number of unique IP addresses involved in phishing sites also rose 3% to 232 (Figure 8). The URL/IP ratio went up 46% to 4.28 in 2021 Q3. On average, there were around 4 phishing sites per server (Figure 9). 

 

Among the top 10 top-level domain name of phishing sites, “.org” was the most used domain name, accounting for 30% of all phishing sites (Figure 3). Almost all of the “.org” phishing sites were using a free dynamic DNS service provider. Mobile users were believed to be the targets of these sites since it would be relatively hard to spot the fake URLs in mobile or in-app browsers. The “.com” (29%) came a close second, with “.cn” (10%), “.top” (6%) and “.bar” (5%) rounding off the top five. Other rarely used domains such as “.shop”, “.cam”, “.monster” and “.icu” were also observed in this quarter. Although some of the phishing sites did not use specific well-known top-level domains, they would have the domain name embedded in the text in the URL to trick careless victims, e.g. hxxps://viewsnet[.]jp[.]dygfpq[.]shop/

 

 

The most frequently used top-level domain of phishing sites 

Figure 3: The most frequently used top-level domain of phishing sites

 

Defacement events fell 7% to 445 in 2021 Q3, while the number of unique IP addresses involved decreased by 2% to 235 (Figure 6). The unique URL/IP ratio also dropped by 5% to 1.89 (Figure 7). On average, there were 2 defacement events in each compromised server.

 

Among the compromised servers, the open-source “Nginx” platform remained the most targeted web server type (Figure 4) even though security events related to the platform have decreased by 42% to 179 in 2021 Q3. “Apache” came second with 159 events, up 218% from 2021 Q2. Of these two server types, “known vulnerability” and “file inclusion” were the most serious issues. However, it was also noted that the “Configuration / admin. mistake” was another major cause of the compromise. HKCERT urges system administrators of these servers to maintain a proper configuration management database and review the change management process in order to eliminate the risk of human error. Other affected platforms include Microsoft IIS 5.0, 6.0, 7.5, 8.5 and 10.0, Tengine and LiteSpeed.

 

Distribution of web servers against compromise methods 

Figure 4: Distribution of operating systems in defacement events

 

There was no malware hosting security event in this quarter. 

 

 

 HKCERT urges system and application administrators to strengthen the protection of servers

  • Patch server, web application and plugins up-to-date to avoid the known vulnerabilities being exploited
  • Follow best practice on user account and password management e.g. two factor authentication, change all default application passwords
  • Implement validation check for user input and system output
  • Use web application firewall
  • Perform penetration testing and vulnerability scanning on a regular basis
  • Perform regular backup

 

 


Botnet-related security events

 

Botnet-related security events can be classified into two categories:

  • Botnet Command and Control (C&C) Centres security events – involving a small number of powerful computers, mostly servers, which give commands to bots
  • Botnet security events - involving a large number of computers, mostly personal computers which receive commands from C&Cs.

 

Botnet C&C Centres

There was no Botnet Command and Control (C&C) Centres security events in this quarter.

 

 

 

Botnet Bots

The trend of botnet (bots) security events is summarised below:

 

Trend of Botnet (Bots) security events: 2021 Q3 had 3422 security events, 2021 Q2 had 6042 security events, 2021 Q1 had 4227 security events, 2020 Q4 had 4372 security events, 2020 Q3 had 4696 security events 

Figure 5 - Trend of Botnet (Bots) security events

 

The number of botnet (bots) events decreased by 43% to 3,422 in 2021 Q3 (Figure 5). Mirai botnets continued to top the Major Botnet Families in Hong Kong Network despite falling by 10% from 1,713 events in 2021 Q2 to 1,542 events in 2021 Q3. Avalanche (425 events) and Conficker (309 events) were second and third respectively, with the former reporting a decrease of 75% and the latter a 2% increase (Table 3).

 

The top 5 botnet families in Hong Kong network in this quarter were Mirai, Avalanche, Conficker, WannaCry and Virut (Table 4). They contributed 79% of all botnet (bots) events in this quarter.

 

 

 HKCERT urges users to protect computers so as not to become part of the botnets.

  • Patch their computers
  • Install a working copy of the security software and scan for malware on their machines
  • Set strong passwords to avoid credential based attack
  • Do not use Windows, media files and software that have no proper licenses
  • Do not use Windows and software that have no security updates
  • Do not open files from unreliable sources

  

HKCERT has been following up the security events received and proactively engaged local ISPs for the botnet cleanup since June 2013. Currently, botnet cleanup operations against major botnet family Avalanche, Pushdo, Citadel, Ramnit, ZeroAccess, GameOver Zeus, VPNFilter and Mirai are still ongoing.
 
HKCERT urges general users to join the cleanup acts, ensuring their computers are not being infected and controlled by malicious software, and protecting their personal data for a cleaner cyberspace.

 

 

 Users can use the HKCERT guideline to detect and clean up botnets

 

 

Download Report

 

< Please click to download Hong Kong Security Watch Report >

 


1 IFAS  Information Feed Analysis System is a HKCERT developed system that collects global security intelligence relating to Hong Kong for analysis.

2 Refer to Appendix 1 for the Sources of Information

3 Shodan is a search engine for Internet-connected devices: https://www.shodan.io/

 

 

 

 
 
 

Related Tags