跳至主內容

香港保安觀察報告 (2021年第一季度)

發佈日期: 2021年05月25日 776 觀看次數

本中心很高興為你帶來2021年第一季度的「香港保安觀察報告」

 

現今,有很多具備上網功能的數碼設備(例如個人電腦、智能手機、平板裝置等),在用戶不知情下被入侵,令儲存在這些設備內的數據,每天要面對被盜取和洩漏,及可能被用於進行不同形式的犯罪活動的風險。

 

《香港保安觀察報告》旨在提高公眾對香港被入侵系統狀況的認知,從而作出更好的資訊保安選擇。這份季度報告提供的數據聚焦在被發現曾經遭受或參與各類型網絡攻擊活動[包括網頁塗改、釣魚網站、惡意程式寄存、殭屍網絡控制中心(C&C) 或殭屍電腦等]的香港系統,其定義為處於香港網絡內,或其主機名稱的頂級域名是「.hk」或「.香港」的系統。

 


報告概要

 

2021年第一季度,有關香港的唯一網絡攻擊數據共有 5,017 個。數據是從IFAS1 系統的 10 個來源2收集所得,而並不是來自 HKCERT 所接獲的事故報告。

 

安全事件趨勢: 2021 Q1 有5017 個安全事件, 2020 Q4 有5074 個安全事件, 2020 Q3 有6753 個安全事件, 2020 Q2有 13365 個安全事件, 2020 Q1 有14433 個安全事件

圖1 – 安全事件趨勢

 

2021 年第一季度共有5,017 宗網絡保安事件,較2020 年第四季度的5,074宗,輕微減少1%(圖1)。本季除釣魚網站事件宗數比上季上升外,其他保安事件均比上一季少,更首次錄得零惡意程式寄存保安事件(表1)。

 

 

 


與伺服器有關的安全事件

 

與伺服器有關的安全事件有: 惡意程式寄存、釣魚網站和網頁塗改。以下為其趨勢和分佈:

 

與伺服器有關的安全事件的趨勢和分佈

圖2 –與伺服器有關的安全事件的趨勢和分佈

 

事件類別2020 Q12020 Q22020 Q32020 Q42021 Q1
網頁塗改5721,062571305295
釣魚網站3992,017552395495
惡意程式寄存5,4454,33493420

表1 –與伺服器有關的安全事件的趨勢和分佈

 

如表1 所示,釣魚網站數量增加25%,從2020 年第四季度的395個增加至本季度的495個,涉及釣魚網站的唯一IP 數目卻減少7%,共有138個,與2020年第一季度相若;由於唯一IP 數目減少,所以最新一季度的唯一網址/IP 比率變為3.59,與2020年的2.65相比,上升35%。在這些釣魚網站當中,大部分一如既往偽冒金融機構及網上商店,亦有近30個網址是與加密貨幣有關。同時,使用 SSL 安全證書的釣魚網站比例亦由上季的56%增至本季的80%,比率持續增加,已成為釣魚網站的 ”新常態”手法。


另外,採用 “.com“ 域名的釣魚網站最多,共179個,第二位是 “.xyz“ ,共53個。方便易記的 “.xyz“ 域名於2014年推出,相信因為註冊成本較低,所以較受黑客青睞,而第三至第五位分別是 “.cn“、“.buzz“ 及 “.org“,使用 “.hk“ 域名的釣魚網站則只有1個。

 

釣魚網站最常使用的域名 

圖3: 釣魚網站最常使用的域名


與上一季度相比,雖然網頁塗改保安事件輕微下落至295宗,但所涉及的唯一IP 地址的數量卻增加35%,達215個。而本季的唯一網址/IP 比率則為1.37,下跌29%。IP地址數量增加,反映本季有更多伺服器被入侵,入侵方式可能與軟件存有未被修補的漏洞有關。HKCERT於2021年第一季發佈多個涉及作業系統及內容管理系統的漏洞及處理方法,並建議伺服器管理員訂閱中心的保安公告 (https://www.hkcert.org/tc/getrss),以獲取更快更新的保安資訊。


另外,從數據顯示,大部份受影響的伺服器均運行著開放源碼及免費的Linux系統,但仍有部份伺服器使用已不再獲支援的Windows 2003 及 Windows 2008版本。由於廠商不會為這些版本提供保安更新,伺服器將會更易遭受網絡攻擊,所以HKCERT呼籲用戶應儘快把作業系統更新或遷移至其他獲支援的版本。

 

網頁塗改保安事件中,受影響伺服器的作業系統分佈 

圖4: 網頁塗改保安事件中,受影響伺服器的作業系統分佈


本季度沒有錄得惡意程式寄存事件。

 

 

 HKCERT促請系統和應用程式管理員保護好伺服器

  • 為伺服器安裝最新修補程式及更新,以避免已知漏洞被利用
  • 更新網站應用程式和插件至最新版本
  • 按照最佳實務守則來管理使用者帳戶和密碼
  • 必須核實客戶在網上應用程式的輸入,及系統的輸出
  • 在管理控制界面使用強認證,例如:雙重認證
  • 不要把不必要的服務暴露在互聯網

 

 


殭屍網絡相關的安全事件

 

殭屍網絡相關的安全事件可以分為兩類:

  • 殭屍網絡控制中心(C&C) 安全事件 — 涉及少數擁有較強能力的電腦,向殭屍電腦發送指令,受影響的主要是伺服器。
  • 殭屍電腦安全事件 — 涉及到大量的電腦,它們接收來自殭屍網絡控制中心(C&C) 的指令,受影響的主要是個人電腦。

 

殭屍網絡控制中心安全事件

以下將是殭屍網絡控制中心(C&C)安全事件的趨勢:

本季度沒有殭屍網絡控制中心(C&C) 的事件。

彊屍網絡控制中心(C&C)安全事件趨勢:2021 Q1 有0 個安全事件,  2020 Q4 有0 個安全事件,  2020 Q3 有0 個安全事件, 2020 Q2 有0 個安全事件, 2020 Q1 有0個安全事件

圖5 – 殭屍網絡控制中心(C&C)安全事件的趨勢

 

 

殭屍電腦安全事件

以下為殭屍電腦安全事件的趨勢:

 

彊屍網絡控制中心(彊屍電腦)安全事件趨勢: 2021 Q1 有4227個安全事件, 2020 Q4 有4372個安全事件, 2020 Q3 有4696個安全事件, 2020 Q2 有5952個安全事件, 2020 Q1 有8017 個安全事件

圖6 - 殭屍電腦安全事件的趨勢

 

對比上一個季度,殭屍網絡(殭屍電腦)的事件在本季度只輕微減少3%,由4,327宗降至4,227宗(圖6),變化不大。數量最多的Mirai持續減少,本季度下跌了19.2%,從2020 年第四季度的2,801宗跌至2,264宗,但仍然是香港網絡內的主要殭屍網絡的首位。而增幅最多的是Nymaim,Zeus 及Avalanche,分別增加276.8%,130%及43.2%,其中Avalanche更躍升至主要殭屍網絡的第二位。


大多數的殭屍網絡家族的數量均有所減少,而五大主要殭屍網絡家族分別是Mirai、Avalanche、WannaCry、Conficker及Nymaim,佔總數的84%(表3)。


Avalanche於 2009 年出現,受感染的裝置會接收伺服器指令進行犯罪活動(如寄出詐騙電郵、進行洗錢活動)。為隱藏伺服器的真正位置,平台會利用代理伺服器及「雙重匿蹤(double fast flux)」技術,即每 5 分鐘更改惡意域名的 DNS 及 IP 地址,讓受感染裝置連接至平台。感染了Avalanche惡意軟件的裝置可能會遭受其他網絡攻擊,包括盜取用戶憑據和其他敏感資料,例如銀行和信用卡等。其他惡意軟件例子包括勒索軟件及遠程訪問木馬等。另外,被入侵的裝置或會遭用作向其他系統發動分佈式阻斷服務(DDoS)攻擊。HKCERT亦已發佈處理受感染裝置的指引:https://www.hkcert.org/tc/blog/hk-victims-reported-in-global-takedown-of-avalanche-cybercrime-hosting-platform

 

 

 

 HKCERT促請使用者保護好電腦,免淪為殭屍網絡的一部分。

  • 安裝最新修補程式及更新
  • 安裝及使用有效的保安防護工具,並定期掃描
  • 設定強密碼以防止密碼容易被破解
  • 不要使用盜版的 Windows 系統,多媒體檔案及軟件
  • 不要使用沒有安全更新的 Windows 系統及軟件

 

自 2013 年 6 月,本中心一直跟進接獲的保安事故,並主動接觸本地互聯網供應商以清除殭屍網絡。清除殭屍網絡的行動仍在進行,針對幾個主要的殭屍網絡家族,包括 Avalanche,  Pushdo, Citadel, Ramnit, ZeroAccess, GameOver Zeus, VPNFilter 及 Mirai。
 
HKCERT呼籲一般用戶加入清除殭屍網絡行動,確保個人電腦並沒有被惡意程式控制或受感染,保護個人資料以提高互聯網的安全性。
 

 

 使用者可HKCERT提供的指引,偵測及清理殭屍網絡

 

 

下載報告

 

< 請按此 下載香港保安觀察報告 >

 


1 Information Feed Analysis System (IFAS) 是HKCERT 建立的系統,用作收集有關香港的環球保安資訊來源中有關香港的保安數據作分析之用

2 參照附錄1 - 資料來源

3 Shodan是用於互聯網連接設備的搜索引擎: https://www.shodan.io/

Skip to main content

Hong Kong Security Watch Report (Q1 2021)

Release Date: 25 May 2021 589 Views

HKCERT is pleased to bring to you the "Hong Kong Security Watch Report" for the first quarter of 2021.

 

Nowadays, many networked digital devices, such as computers, smartphones, tablets, are being compromised without the user's knowledge. The data on them may be mined and exposed every day, and even be used for various criminal activities.

 

The Hong Kong Security Watch Report aims to raise public awareness of the problem of compromised systems in Hong Kong, enabling them to make better decision in information security. The data in this quarterly report focuses on the activities of compromised systems in Hong Kong which suffer from, or have participated in various types of cyber attacks, including web defacement, phishing, malware hosting, botnet command and control centres (C&C) or bots. "Computers in Hong Kong'' refer to those whose network geolocation is Hong Kong, or the top level domain of their host name is ".hk'' or “.香港”. 

 


Highlight of Report

 

In 2021 Q1, there were 5,017 unique security events related to Hong Kong used for analysis in this report. Data were collected through IFAS1 with 10 sources of information2, and not collected from the incident reports received by HKCERT.

 

Trend of security events: 2021 Q1 had 5017 security events, 2020 Q4 had 5074 security events, 2020 Q3 had 6753 security events, 2020 Q2 had 13365 security events, 2020 Q1 had 14433 security events

Figure 1 –Trend of security events

 

There were 5,017 cyber security events in 2021 Q1, marginally down 1% from 2020 Q4 (5,074 cases) (Figure 1). Except phishing sites, all other security events recorded a drop this quarter. Also, for the first time, there was no malware hosting security event (Table 1).

 

 

 


Server related security events

 

Server related security events include malware hosting, phishing and defacement. Their trends and distributions are summarised below:

 

Trend and distribution of server related security events 

Figure 2 –Trend and distribution of server related security events

 

 

Event Type2020 Q12020 Q22020 Q32020 Q42021 Q1
Defacement5721,062571305295
Phishing3992,017552395495
Malware Hosting5,4454,33493420

 Table 1–Trend and distribution of server related security events

 

As shown in Table 1, the number of phishing sites increased by 25%, from 395 sites in 2020 Q4 to 495 sites this quarter. However, the number of unique IP addresses involved in phishing sites fell 7% to 138, similar to that of 2020 Q1. As the number of unique IP addresses decreased, the unique URL/IP ratio went up 35% from 2.65 in 2020 Q4 to 3.59 in 2021 Q1. Of these phishing sites, as usual, most would impersonate financial institutions and online shops. However, over 30 of them were related to cryptocurrency. In addition, the proportion of phishing sites with SSL certificates has risen from 56% in the last quarter to 80% in this quarter. This has become a new norm for phishing sites. 


Also, phishing sites using the “.com” domain name came top with 179 of such sites, followed by “.xyz“ with 53. Launched in 2014, the easy-to-remember “.xyz“ domain name has been favoured by hackers due to its low registration cost. Meanwhile, “.cn“, “.buzz“ and “.org“ occupied third to fifth places and only one phishing site used “.hk“ domain name.

 

The most frequently used top-level domain of phishing sites 

Figure 3: The most frequently used top-level domain of phishing sites

 

Against last quarter, although defacement events decreased slightly to 295, the number of unique IP addresses involved rose by 35% to 215. The unique URL/IP ration dropped 29% to 1.37. The increase of IP addresses reflected that more servers have been compromised which might be related to unpatched vulnerabilities in software. HKCERT has issued several bulletins of vulnerabilities in operating systems and content management systems and their handling methods in 2021 Q1, and urges server administrators to subscribe its Security Bulletin to get the latest security information (https://www.hkcert.org/getrss). 


Also, from the statistics, most of the compromised servers were running on the open source and free Linux operating systems, though some were still running Windows 2003 and Windows 2008 versions which had already reached end-of-support. Since the manufacturer would no longer release security updates for them, the servers would become more vulnerable to cyber attacks. HKCERT urges owners of these servers to upgrade the operating systems or migrate to a supported version.

 

Distribution of operating systems in defacement events 

Figure 4: Distribution of operating systems in defacement events


There was no malware hosting security events in this quarter.

 

 

 HKCERT urges system and application administrators to protect the servers.

  • Patch server up-to-date to avoid the known vulnerabilities being exploited
  • Update web application and plugins to the latest version
  • Follow best practice on user account and password management
  • Implement validation check for user input and system output
  • Provide strong authentication e.g. two factor authentication, administrative control interface
  • Acquire information security knowledge to prevent social engineering attack

 

 


Botnet related security events

 

Botnet related security events can be classified into two categories:

  • Botnet Command and Control Centres (C&C) security events – involving a small number of powerful computers, mostly servers, which give commands to bots
  • Botnet security events - involving a large number of computers, mostly personal computers which receive commands from C&Cs.

 

Botnet Command and Control Servers

The trend of Botnet C&C security events is summarised below:

There was no Botnet Command and Control Centers (C&C) security events in this quarter.

 

Trend of Botnet (C&C) security events: 2021 Q1 had 0 security event, 2020 Q4 had 0 security event, 2020 Q3 had 0 security event, 2020 Q2 had 0 security event, 2020 Q1 had 0 security event 

Figure 5 –Trend of Botnet (C&Cs) related security events

 

 

 

Botnet Bots

The trend of botnet (bots) security events is summarised below:

 

Trend of Botnet (Bots) security events: 2021 Q1 had 4227 security events, 2020 Q4 had 4372 security events, 2020 Q3 had 4696 security events, 2020 Q2 had 5952 security events, 2020 Q1 had 8017 security events 

Figure 6 - Trend of Botnet (Bots) security events

 

The number of botnet (bots) event only decreased by 3% from 4,327 in the last quarter to 4,227 this quarter (Figure 6). Although the number of Mirai botnets has decreased continuously, falling by 19.2% from 2,801 in 2020 Q4 to 2,264 this quarter, it still came top in the Major Botnet Families in Hong Kong Network. Nymaim, Zeus and Avalanche had the largest percentage rises with increases of 276.8%, 130% and 43.2% respectively. Avalanche even climbed to second in the major botnet table


Most botnet families have recorded a decrement. The top 5 botnet families are Mirai, Avalanche, WannaCry, Conficker and Bymaim, accounting for 84% of the total count.


Avalanche botnet first appeared in 2009. Infected devices would receive commands from the server to conduct malicious activities (e.g. sending out fraudulent emails, conducting money laundering activities). In order to hide the server’s actual locations, it would make use of proxy server as well as “double fast flux” techniques, i.e. changing both DNS and IP address of a malicious domain every 5 minutes, for infected devices to connect to the platform. A device infected with Avalanche may also be subject to other cyber attacks, such as theft of banking and credit card information, ransomware, unauthorised access, etc. The compromised device may also be used to launch distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks. In case of infection, please refer to the HKCERT guideline for handling and prevention:
https://www.hkcert.org/blog/hk-victims-reported-in-global-takedown-of-avalanche-cybercrime-hosting-platform

 

 

 

 HKCERT urges users to protect computers so as not to become part of the botnets.

  • Patch their computers
  • Install a working copy of the security software and scan for malware on their machines
  • Set strong passwords to avoid credential based attack
  • Do not use Windows, media files and software that have no proper licenses
  • Do not use Windows and software that have no security updates
  • Do not open files from unreliable sources

  

HKCERT has been following up the security events received and proactively engaged local ISPs for the botnet cleanup since June 2013. Currently, botnet cleanup operations against major botnet family Avalanche, Pushdo, Citadel, Ramnit, ZeroAccess, GameOver Zeus, VPNFilter and Mirai are still ongoing.
 
HKCERT urges general users to join the cleanup acts, ensuring their computers are not being infected and controlled by malicious software, and protecting their personal data for a cleaner cyberspace.

 

 

 Users can use the HKCERT guideline to detect and clean up botnets

 

 

Download Report

 

< Please click to download Hong Kong Security Watch Report >

 


1 IFAS  Information Feed Analysis System is a HKCERT developed system that collects global security intelligence relating to Hong Kong for analysis.

2 Refer to Appendix 1 for the Sources of Information

3 Shodan is a search engine for Internet-connected devices: https://www.shodan.io/

 

 

 

 
 
 

Related Tags