跳至主內容

香港保安觀察報告 (2022年第二季度)

發佈日期: 2022年08月11日 943 觀看次數

本中心很高興為你帶來2022年第二季度的「香港保安觀察報告」

 

現今,有很多具備上網功能的數碼設備(例如個人電腦、智能手機、平板裝置等),在用戶不知情下被入侵,令儲存在這些設備內的數據,每天要面對被盜取和洩漏,及可能被用於進行不同形式的犯罪活動的風險。

 

《香港保安觀察報告》旨在提高公眾對香港被入侵系統狀況的認知,從而作出更好的資訊保安選擇。這份季度報告提供的數據聚焦在被發現曾經遭受或參與各類型網絡攻擊活動[包括網頁塗改、釣魚網站、惡意程式寄存、殭屍網絡控制中心或殭屍電腦等]的香港系統,其定義為處於香港網絡內,或其主機名稱的頂級域名是「.hk」或「. 香港」的系統。報告亦會回顧該季度所發生的重大保安事件及探討熱門保安議題,並提出易於執行的保安建議,提升公眾的資訊保安認知的水平,増強應對有關風險的能力。

 

 

2022 第二季度報告概要

 

涉及香港的單一網絡保安事件宗數
8,793
按季上升
+94%

 

 

Trend and distribution of server related security events 

 

 

事件類別

2021 Q2

2021 Q3

2021 Q4

2022 Q1

2022 Q2

按季

網頁塗改

476

445

595

718

118

-84%

釣魚網站

665

993

1,061

806

5,033

+524%

惡意程式寄存

8

0

0

0

0

-

殭屍網絡(殭屍電腦)

6,042

3,422

3,097

3,003

3,642

+21%

殭屍網絡(控制中心)

0

0

0

0

0

-

總數

7,191

4,860

4,753

4,527

8,793

+94%

 


香港網絡內的主要殭屍網絡

 

Mirai 1390 cases
Sality 405 cases

Conficker

246

+0.8%

Tinba

232

+121%

Nymaim

222

+204.1%

Sality

205

-49.5%

Virut

112

+6.7%

VPNFilter

57

+5.6%

Zeus

41

-6.8%

Corebot

40

+73.9%

 

Major Botnet Families in Hong Kong Network

 

* 主要殭屍網絡指在報告時間內,透過資訊來源有可觀及持續穩定的數據。殭屍網絡的規模是計算在報告時間內,每天嘗試連接到殭屍網絡的單一IP地址總數的最大值。換而言之,由於不是所有殭屍電腦都一定在同一天開機,因此殭屍網絡的真實規模應該 比所見的數字更大。


減低受釣魚攻擊影響的損失

什麼是網絡釣魚攻擊?
是社交工程攻擊的一種,方法是冒充目標認識人士或合法網站來進行詐騙。通常第一步都是透過電子郵件或即時通訊軟件將釣魚訊息傳送至目標人士。然而,現今的攻擊手法會結合不同的技術,如偽造二維碼、聊天機器人、利用系統漏洞等,以欺騙受害人提供敏感信息或安裝惡意軟件。

 

 

 

涉及釣魚攻擊的網站,從2022年第一季度的806個,增加524%至第二季度的5,033個,大多網站都用相類近網址,相信黑客是利用自動化工具於短時間內產生及登記大量域名及架設釣魚網站。釣魚攻擊日益猖獗,機構除了要提高員工的保安意識來辨別釣魚攻擊的特徵外,建立一套全面的保安事故應變守則,以應對員工不幸中招,亦非常重要。

 

HKCERT最近出版了《中小企保安事故應變指南》,以情景方式介紹當保安事故發生時,由籌備到事故後處理的應變程序,當中涵蓋多種常見的攻擊種類,包括分散式阻斷服務、惡意軟件、釣魚電郵及網頁塗改/入侵等。指南亦附有檢查清單,讓中小企自行核對應變程序有否遺漏。可按此處下載。

 


焦點:資訊保安烏托邦由「零信任」架構開始

 

 

一直以來,人與人,國與國之間的平穩和諧關係都是建立於「信任」這個重要的基石上,然而近年在網絡保安界裡卻有人大唱反調,認為只有「零信任」才能確保大家的安全。

 

「零信任」架構是由網絡保安分析員John Kindervag 於2009年在Forrester Research工作時引入的概念。 簡單而言,「零信任」的大原則是「永不信任,驗證為上」,它否定傳統企業認為防火牆內保護的網絡是安全的,並認為外部網絡接入企業內部網絡是需要規管及認證的。這概念後來更獲美國國家標準技術研究所(NIST )採納,制定成為SP 800-207「零信任」架構標準[1],於2020年推出。

 

 

微分段是什麼?為何在「零信任」中十分重要?

 

微分段是零信任架構的骨幹,它幫助企業遇到資訊保安事故時減低攻擊面和影響範圍,是一種常用於數據中心及雲端環境中創建網絡區域的方法,用作隔離及保護每一組獨立的工作負載。透過微分段,系統管理員可以基於零信任架構創建策略及限制工作負載之間的網絡流量。企業使用微分段能有效減少網絡攻擊範圍,改善保安事故的控制,並加強法規遵從性。

 

傳統網絡設計上只分為三個區域,內部網絡、外部網絡,以及放置要暴露於互聯網的伺服器的子網絡DMZ (Demilitarised Zone)。員工從內部網絡進入內部系統會被認為是符合保安要求的,繼而得到較寬鬆的限制,但其實很多網絡保安事故都是由黑客控制員工電腦後,再進行橫向攻擊的。

 

至於微分段網絡設計,它會利用到最少權限原則,例如網絡設計上會細分為不同部門及功能所需,部門一的員工只能存取所屬部門的系統,而部門二的員工是不能存取部門一的系統的,而每個部門的網絡必需有防火牆保護。微分段網絡設計有效地縮小攻擊規模及受影響時的範圍。

 

來源:https://www.techtarget.com/searchnetworking/definition/microsegmentation

 

如何實行「零信任」架構?

 

有關實施「零信任」所需的技術或工具,企業可以參考以下內容:

 

 

目標

工具與技術

帳戶

持續驗證、實時分析

  • 雲端存取資安代理  (CASB)
  • 安全信息和事件管理 (SIEM)
  • 多重因素驗證 (MFA)
  • 身分識別與存取管理 (IAM)
  • 密碼管理
  • 特權存取管理 (PAM)

設備

不斷驗證及監控設備安全、數據存取權取決於實時風險分析

  • 修補程式管理
  • 漏洞分析
  • 端點偵測與回應 (EDR)
  • 防毒軟件
  • 行動裝置管理 (MDM)

網絡

微分段、威脅防護、加密

  • 網絡存取管制 (NAC)
  • 網站應用程式防火牆 (WAF)
  • 次世代防火牆 (NGFW)

應用程序

工作負載

安全工具整合於系統發展生命周期

  • 靜態應用程式安全測試 (SAST)
  • 交互式應用程式安全測試 (IAST)
  • 動態應用系統安全測試 (DAST)
  • 執行應用系統自我防護 (RASP)
  • 應用程式界面管理

數據

數據必須加密並可監控

  • 資料外洩防護 (DLP)
  • 硬體安全模組 (HSM)
  • 加密

表1 – 實行「零信任」的技術或工具

 

企業需要先按不同業務所需,再制定相應的保安政策。在考慮使用任何技術或工具前,都應了解有否保安風險及風險被利用的後果。就算制定好了一套「零信任」架構,都必需定期覆核及檢測,從而達至降低網絡威脅和數據洩露的風險和影響。


焦點:惡意的情報收集 - Now I See You

 

 

資訊及通訊科技發展迅速,再加上新冠肺炎疫情,大家對網絡使用需求不斷上升。普羅大眾在網上購物和投資已成生活的一部分,中小企亦會建立電腦網絡系統或使用雲端服務來處理日常業務及交易,因此很多具價值的資料都會存取於網絡上及系統裡,導致網絡罪行及黑客入侵事件變得頻繁。

 

大家會時常聽到黑客攻擊其他人的伺服器,但是他們又是如何做到的?當然,網絡攻擊有形形色色的手法,有些會用釣魚攻擊,亦有部分會向用戶發出惡意軟件。但往往進行攻擊前,黑客都會做一些事前準備及觀察,收集情報。這篇文章將循Malicious Scan 方向剖析這行為。


“Malicious Scan”是指惡意網絡掃瞄。

 

首先,黑客會使用端口掃描工具,一次過掃描大量目標公司的域名,從而知道該公司的伺服器有否公開可被用作入侵的端口。每一個端口可被視作為網絡接入口,會預設一個數字及用途,以下是一些常用例子。


  • 端口20:檔案傳輸協定(傳輸資料)(FTP)
  • 端口21:檔案傳輸協定(傳輸命令)(FTP)
  • 端口22:安全遠端登入協定(SSH)及用於安全檔案傳輸(SCP/SFTP)
  • 端口23:終端仿真協定(Telnet)
  • 端口25:簡單郵件傳輸協定(SMTP)
  • 端口80:超文字傳輸協定(HTTP)
  • 端口443:超文字傳輸安全協定(HTTPS

 

當黑客成功取得有關資訊後,便會嘗試遙距連結該端口來進行攻擊,例如使用密碼暴力攻擊(即Brute-force attack)來取得存取權限,或繼續搜集及攻擊系統的漏洞來入侵伺服器。以下例子就是端口掃描工具的畫面,可以看見21、22,、25及80端口已開放,意味著黑客可以利用這些「入口」進行網絡入侵。

 

來源:https://phoenixnap.com/kb/nmap-scan-open-ports

 

假如目標是網站伺服器 (開放了80或443端口),黑客可以透過目錄掃描工具暴力破解網站伺服器上的目錄和文件名。原理是把常用的目錄和文件(例如: /index.php, /login.php 或 /images/) 附加到網址後方,從而得知網站收藏了哪些資料。

 

來源:https://www.kali.org/tools/dirbuster/

 

其他與密碼有關的黑客入侵

 

  • 字典攻擊
    • 字典攻擊是一種蠻力攻擊。此手法通過許多常見詞語及密碼來猜出系統密碼的方法。黑客會使用最常用的密碼、流行的寵物名字、虛構人物或字典中的字詞的大量列表來進行嘗試。
  • 資料外洩
    • 資料外洩也是一種可以導致密碼流出的原因之一,黑客會藉此取得系統密碼用作登入,根據香港資訊安全網資料顯示,資料外洩原因可以歸立為仿冒詐騙、軟件或系統漏洞、錯誤設定、內部威脅和用戶疏忽。
  • 憑證填充
    • 黑客會利用殭屍網絡以自動化方式不停使用偷來的帳號密碼嘗試登入網絡服務。此方法利用大量外洩的電郵地址和密碼,再搭配自動化程式,不斷試圖登入網絡服務,直至某一組帳號密碼成功登入為止。由於很多人會貪方便及易記,於不同的網絡服務中重用相同的帳號名稱及密碼組合,所以黑客一旦偷得其中一組,便能很容易入侵用戶的其他帳戶。

掃描系統漏洞

 

攻擊機構系統的漏洞是另一種黑客常用的技倆,當中會利用漏洞掃描器掃描目標機構的系統,了解機構的系統版本與官方的最新系統版本漏洞上的差異,從而透過進行攻擊;亦會使用Nmap檢查目標系統是否在線、端口是否開放、查閱系統版本資訊。

 

來源:https://zh.wikipedia.org/zh-hk/Nmap#/media/File:Nmap-5.21.png

 


保安建議

 

  • 要時常更新系統及裝置的保安程式
  • 更換支援已逾期的系統或裝置
  • 關閉或封阻不使用的端口及IP 位址
  • 定期審視業務需求,儘量減少端口公開的數目
  • 減少公開非必要的資訊到互聯網上
  • 限制登入失敗次數以減低密碼暴力攻擊的影響
  • 經常審視日誌,查看有否異常的網絡流量來自不明的IP 地址
  • 使用多重身分驗證及複雜性高的密碼(例如混合使用符號、數字、大階及細階英文字母,及建議長度不少於8個字元)

 


網絡攻擊:微軟檢測工具漏洞的QBot釣魚電郵攻擊

 

 

HKCERT早前發出一個有關微軟檢測工具 (MSDT) 漏洞的保安公告(CVE-2022-30190)。由於黑客可以利用該漏洞執行任意程式碼,加上有跡象顯示相關的網絡攻擊已經出現,所以被評為對相關系統構成極高風險。

 

至近日HKCERT更發現有報導指新版的QBot惡意軟件正試圖透過此漏洞散播,方法是發動大規模釣魚電郵攻擊,誘騙受害人開啟惡意附件。就此,HKCERT特別收集了其中一個電郵作樣本,並對整個攻擊手法及背後運作進行了分析。

 

甚麼是微軟支援診斷工具存在安全漏洞 (CVE-2022-30190)?


為Windows作業系統用以蒐集裝置之診斷資料,並傳送給技術支援工程師以解決問題之工具。研究人員發現微軟支援診斷工具存在名為Follina之安全漏洞(CVE-2022-30190),攻擊者誘騙使用者開啟惡意Word檔案時,可利用URL協定呼叫微軟支援診斷工具以觸發此漏洞,進而遠端執行任意程式碼。

 

釣魚電郵

 

首先,黑客會發送一封帶有惡意 HTML 檔案的釣魚郵件,並誘騙受害者打開它。

 

來源:https://isc.sans.edu/diaryimages/images/2022-06-09-ISC-diary-image-04.jpg

 

於是HKCERT便翻查該HTML檔案的原始碼,先看到的是一段 JavaScript程式碼,但內容是經過Base64編碼方式處理的一排”亂碼”。

 

 

再從另一段落中,可以找到如直接開啟HTML檔案的話便會立即執行的程式碼,這程式碼會將上述的Base64”亂碼”轉換成二進位物件(Blob, Binary large object),然後放進超連結中並觸發下載程序。

 

 

開啟該HTML檔案後,瀏覽器便會立即顯示已經下載了一個名為「17045690_045147.zip」的zip檔案。

 

 

將「17045690_045147.zip」解壓縮後會得出一個「17045690_045147.img」檔,再解壓縮後見到另外3個檔案如下。

 

 

針對「doc564.docx」進行分析

 

HKCERT嘗試截取網絡數據,發現當開啟「doc564.docx」後,有不尋常的網絡數據傳輸出現。從截取的數據中可以看到檔案首先以User-Agent: Microsoft Office Protocol Discovery連接伺服器(185[.]234[.]247[.]119),然後再試圖連接「185[.]234[.]247[.]119」去下載一個「123.RES」檔案的資料。

 

 

 

除觀察網絡數據外,亦可從分拆docx檔案後的「document.xml.rels」檔案中,看到黑客在背後其實是透過oleObject物件來下載及執行「123.res」檔案。 

 

 

而下載及開啟「123.res」檔案後,就會看到調用 ms-msdt通訊協議的指令,這便是直正利用CVE-2022-30190漏洞的程式碼,但內容亦是以Base64編碼方式隱藏了真正指令。

 

 

經重新編譯後,真正的指令是PowerShell的程式碼,會連接至3個不同的網站下載Qbot惡意軟件相關的檔案,並以 regsvr32 指令註冊在系統登錄檔上。

 

 

在撰寫本文時,Microsoft 已在 6 月15日的6月保安更新中發佈了針對此漏洞的修補程式。 因此,HKCERT 建議用戶:

 

  1. 保持系統、軟件及防毒軟件於最更新狀態
  2. 切勿胡亂開啟不明檔案、網頁及電郵
  3. 開啟電郵內的附件及連結之前最好先確定寄件者身份及電郵內容
  4. 檢查文件的副檔名以免被檔案名稱誤導
  5. 有關最新的系統漏洞資訊及如何修復,可訂閱HKCERT網站的保安公告


下載報告

 

< 請按此 下載香港保安觀察報告 >

Skip to main content

Hong Kong Security Watch Report (Q2 2022)

Release Date: 11 Aug 2022 986 Views

HKCERT is pleased to bring to you the "Hong Kong Security Watch Report" for the second quarter of 2022.

 

Nowadays, many networked digital devices, such as computers, smartphones, tablets, are being compromised without the user’s knowledge. The data on them may be mined and exposed every day, and even be used for various criminal activities.

 

The Hong Kong Security Watch Report aims to raise public awareness of the problem of compromised systems in Hong Kong, enabling them to make better decision in information security. The data in this quarterly report focuses on the activities of compromised systems in Hong Kong which suffer from, or have participated in various types of cyber attacks, including web defacement, phishing, malware hosting, botnet command and control (C&C) centres or bots (Table 1). “Computers in Hong Kong” refer to those whose network geolocation is Hong Kong, or the top level domain of their host name is “.hk”. Also, this report will review major security incidents and explore hot security topics with easy-to-adopt security advice with an aim to improve public’s information security posture and enhance their security resilience capabilities. 

 

 

Highlight of the 2022 Q2 Report

 

Unique security events related to Hong Kong
8,793
Quarter-to-quarter
+94%

 

 

Trend and distribution of server related security events 

 

 

Event Type

2021 Q2

2021 Q3

2021 Q4

2022 Q1

2022 Q2

quarter-to-quarter

Defacement

476

445

595

718

118

-84%

Phishing

665

993

1,061

806

5,033

+524%

Malware Hosting

8

0

0

0

0

-

Botnet (Bots)

6,042

3,422

3,097

3,003

3,642

+21%

Botnet (C&C Centres)

0

0

0

0

0

-

Total

7,191

4,860

4,753

4,527

8,793

+94%

 


Major Botnet Families in Hong Kong Network

 

Mirai 1390 cases
Sality 405 cases

Conficker

246

+0.8%

Tinba

232

+121%

Nymaim

222

+204.1%

Sality

205

-49.5%

Virut

112

+6.7%

VPNFilter

57

+5.6%

Zeus

41

-6.8%

Corebot

40

+73.9%

 

Major Botnet Families in Hong Kong Network

 

* Individual botnet’s size is calculated from the maximum of the daily counts of unique IP address attempting to connect to the botnet in the reporting period. In other words, the real botnet size should be larger because not all bots are activated on the same day.


Minimise the Impacts of Phishing Attacks

What is phishing attack? 
A form of social engineering attacks by impersonating a known associate or a legitimate website for the purpose of defrauding. Phishing attacks are mostly launched via emails or instant messages. These days the attacks will combine different techniques such as fake QR code, chatbot, exploitation of system vulnerability, that aim to lure their victims into providing sensitive information or installing malware. 

 

 

 

The number of unique URL involved in phishing events increased 524% from 806 events in 2022 Q1 to 5,033 events in 2022 Q2. As most URLs of these phishing sites are similar, it is believed that hackers may have used automated tools to generate and register a large number of domains and set up phishing websites in a short period of time. As phishing attacks become rampant, apart from raising the awareness of employees to identify the characteristics of such attacks, a comprehensive incident response procedure also plays an important role in case of any unsuspecting employee falling victim to them. 

 

HKCERT recently published an “Incident Response Guideline for SMEs” (“The Guideline”). It uses a scenario-based approach to depict the procedure to handle common cyber attacks such as distributed denial of service, malware, phishing email and web defacement / intrusion, from preparation to post-incident actions. The Guideline also comes with a checklist for SMEs to verify against the necessary action steps yet to be taken during the actual handling of an incident. Click here to download it.

 


Focus: Information Security Utopia Starts with Zero Trust Architecture

 

 

For a long time, as commonly perceived, a stable and harmonious relationship between people and nations is built on the important cornerstone of “trust”. However, in recent years, those in the cyber security sector have suggested the contrary that only "Zero Trust" can ensure security for everyone.

 

The Zero Trust architecture was first introduced by cyber security analyst John Kindervag in 2009 while working at Forrester Research. Its overriding principle is simply “Never Trust, Always Verify”. The Zero Trust architecture denies the traditional corporate network protected by the firewall is secure and emphasises the need for internal network to be verified and authorised. The concept was later adopted by the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the U.S. to become the SP 800-207 Zero Trust Architecture standard which was issued in 2020. 

 

 

What is Micro-Segmentation and why it is important to Zero Trust?

 

Micro-segmentation is a method of creating zones in data centres and cloud environments to isolate workloads from one another and secure them individually. With micro-segmentation, system administrators can create policies that limit network traffic between workloads based on a Zero Trust approach. Corporates use micro-segmentation to reduce the network attack surface, improve breach containment and strengthen regulatory compliance.

 

In traditional network design, it is usually divided into 3 zones, Internal, External and DMZ (Demilitarised Zone) subnet that places servers which are exposed to the Internet. Employees accessing internal systems from the intranet have been considered as secure, resulting in less restriction from security policies. However, many cyber incidents involve hackers first taking control of employees' computers before launching lateral internal attacks.

 

Principle of least privilege can be used in the micro-segmentation design. The network will be divided into different subnets according to different functions. For example, employees from department “A” will be limited to access the systems of their own department while those from department “B” cannot access department “A”. Each subnet must be protected by a firewall. This micro-segmentation can limit the impact of attack and attack surface effectively.

 

Source: https://www.techtarget.com/searchnetworking/definition/microsegmentation

 

How to implement Zero Trust approach?

 

For the technologies or tools to implement Zero Trust, corporates can refer to the below table:

 

 

Goals

Tools and Technology

Identity

Continuous Validation; Real Time analysis

  • Cloud Access Security Broker (CASB)
  • Security Information and Event Management (SIEM)
  • Multi Factor Authentication (MFA)
  • Identity and Access Management (IAM)
  • Password Management
  • Privileged Access Management (PAM)

Device

Constant Device Security Monitor and Validation; Data Access Depends on real-time risk analytics

  • Patch Management
  • Vulnerability Assessment
  • Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR)
  • Antivirus
  • Mobile Device Management (MDM)

Network

Micro-Segmentation; Threat Protection; Encrypted

  • Network Access Control (NAC)
  • Web Application Firewall (WAF)
  • Next Generation Firewall (NGFW)

Application Workload

Security Tools Integration into SDLC

  • Static Application Security Testing (SAST)
  • Interactive Application Security Testing (IAST)
  • Dynamic Application Security Testing (DAST)
  • Runtime Application Self-Protection (RASP)
  • API Management

Data

Data is encrypted and Can be Monitored

  • Data Loss Protection (DLP)
  • Hardware Security Modules (HSM)
  • Encryption

Table 1 – Technologies or Tools to Implement Zero Trust

 

Corporates need to develop different security policies according to their business needs. When considering the use of any technologies or tools, they must assess the corresponding risks and impacts clearly. Even if a Zero Trust approach is in place, it is necessary to regularly review and test in order to reduce the risk and impact of cyber-attacks and data breaches.


Focus: Malicious Information Gathering - Now I See You

 

 

The rapid development of information and communications technology, coupled with the COVID-19 pandemic, has led to an increasing demand for Internet usage. While online shopping and investment have become part of life for the general public, SMEs are building their own computer network systems or using cloud services to handle their daily business and transactions. As a result, a lot of valuable information can be accessed on the networks and systems, resulting in frequent cybercrimes and hacking incidents.

 

We often hear of hackers attacking other people’s servers, but how do they do it? Of course, hackers carry out network attacks in various ways, such as launching phishing attacks, or sending malware to users. But often before the attack, the hacker will do some reconnaissance and research to collect intelligence. This time, we will dissect the behaviour of one of the hacker’s approach - Malicious Scan.


"Malicious Scan" is scanning against the victim’s networks and systems unauthorisedly.

 

First of all, hackers would use a port scanning tool to scan a large number of target companies’ domains at the same time to see if the company's servers have network ports opened that could be used for exploitation. Ports can be viewed as a network entry point. They are presented with a number and function. The following are some common examples.


  • Port 20:File Transfer Protocol (Transfer data) (FTP)
  • Port 21:File Transfer Protocol (Control) (FTP)
  • Port 22:Secure Shell (SSH) and Secure File Transfer Protocol (SCP/SFTP)
  • Port 23:Telnet
  • Port 25:Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP)
  • Port 80:Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP)
  • Port 443:Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS)

 

When hackers successfully collect the relevant intelligence, they will try to connect to the port remotely to conduct the attacks, such as using password brute force attacks to gain access or continue to collect and attack to the system vulnerabilities for intrusion. The following example is the screen of a port scanning tool. Ports 21, 22, 25 and 80 are open which means that hackers can use these “entrance” to conduct network intrusions.

 

Source: https://phoenixnap.com/kb/nmap-scan-open-ports

 

If the target is a web server (port 80 or 443 is opened), hackers can also brute force the directories and file names on the web server through directory scanning tools. The tool will try to append commonly used directories and files name (for example: /index.php, /login.php or /images/) to the end of the URL in order to check what further information could be collected in the reconnaissance stage.

 

Source:https://www.kali.org/tools/dirbuster/

 

Other Password-related Attacks

 

  • Dictionary attack
    • A dictionary attack is a kind of brute force attack. This method uses many common words and passwords to guess the system password. Hackers try using the most common passwords, popular pet names, fictional characters, or extensive lists of words from a dictionary.
  • Information Leakage
    • In addition, data leakage is one of the reasons for the leakage of passwords. Hackers use this to obtain system passwords for login. According to information from the Information Security Network, the reasons for data leakage can be attributed to phishing, software or system loopholes, misconfiguration, insider threats and user negligence.
  • Credential stuffing
    • Hackers will use botnets to repeatedly attempt to log in to network services with stolen account passwords in an automated fashion. This method uses many leaked email addresses and passwords, coupled with automated tools, to continuously try to log in to the network service until a match is found. Since many users re-use the same credential across different web services, therefore, if the hacker manages to steal one of these, he could hack into all the accounts of the victim easily.

Exploit System Vulnerabilities

 

Hackers can use vulnerability scanners to scan the target organisation’s system versions to see if the organisation is using a vulnerable version. Hackers will also use Nmap to check whether the target system is online and which port is open in order to check the system version information.

 

Source: https://zh.wikipedia.org/zh-hk/Nmap#/media/File:Nmap-5.21.png

 


Security Advice

 

  • For all systems and devices, always update the latest security patch
  • Replace end-of-support systems or devices
  • Disable or block unused ports and IP addresses
  • Review business requirements regularly to minimise the number of opened ports
  • Avoid disclosing excessive or unnecessary information on the Internet
  • Limit the number of failed logins attempts to reduce the impact of brute-force attack
  • Examine logs for unusual network traffic originating from unknown IP addresses
  • Use multi-factor authentication and complex passwords (For example, use a mixture of symbols, numbers, upper and lowercase letters, and the recommended length is at least 8 characters)

 


Cyber Attack: An Analysis of Microsoft Support Diagnostic Tool Vulnerability-Led QBot Phishing Email Attack

 

 

HKCERT earlier issued a security bulletin (CVE-2022-30190) about the vulnerability of Microsoft Support Diagnostic Tool (MSDT). Since hackers can exploit the vulnerability to execute arbitrary code, and it has been exploited in the wild, the vulnerability was rated as extremely high risk.

 

Recently, it was reported that a new version of QBot malware is using this vulnerability to deliver its malware. This takes the form of a large-scale phishing email attack with the victims being lured to open a malicious attachment. In this regard, HKCERT collected one of the samples and analysed the whole attack chain and the operation behind it.
 

What is Microsoft Support Diagnostic Tool and CVE-2022-30190 Vulnerability?


Microsoft Support Diagnostic Tool (MSDT) is a tool for Windows operating system to collect device diagnostic data for use in problem solving by technical support engineers. Security researchers discovered a security vulnerability named Follina (CVE-2022-30190) in the tool. When an attacker tricks a user into opening a malicious Word file, they can use the URL protocol to call MSDT to trigger this vulnerability, and execute arbitrary code remotely.

 

Phishing Email

 

Hackers will initially send a phishing email with a malicious HTML file attached and trick the victim into opening it.

 

Source: https://isc.sans.edu/diaryimages/images/2022-06-09-ISC-diary-image-04.jpg

 

When analysing the source code of the HTML document, a JavaScript code was shown, but the content is obfuscated by Base64 encoding.

 

 

As can be seen from another part of the code, the script which will be executed once opened the HTML file was found. The code will convert the above obfuscated content to Blob format (Binary large object), and then put it in to a hyperlink element and trigger the download process.

 

 

Therefore, when the HTML file is opened, the browser will immediately download a file named "17045690_045147.zip".

 

 

Uncompressing "17045690_045147.zip" file had output a file named “17045690_045147.img”. Further uncompressing the .img file had output 3 new files as follows.

 

 

Analysing "doc564.docx"

 

HKCERT intercepted the network traffic and found that when “doc564.docx” was opened, there was unusual network data transmission. From the intercepted data, the file first connects to the server (185[.]234[.]247[.]119) with User-Agent: Microsoft Office Protocol Discovery and then tries to connect to "185[.]234 [.]247[.]119" to download a file named "123.RES".

 

 

 

Apart from monitoring network traffic, the “document.xml.rels” file obtained by decompressing the docx file is also checked. It showed that the hacker is trying to download and execute the “123.RES” file through the “oleObject”.

 

 

After downloading and opening the "123.res" file, the code calling ms-msdt was found. It is the actual code which exploits the CVE-2022-30190 vulnerability. But the content is again obfuscated by base64 encoding.

 

 

After decoding, it was a PowerShell script which downloads the Qbot malware related files from 3 different websites, and then uses the regsvr32 command to register the downloaded components.

 

 

At the time of writing, Microsoft had released a security patch for this vulnerability on 15 June in its monthly patch of June. Hence, HKCERT recommends users to:

 

  1. Always keep the system, software, and antivirus software up to date;
  2. Not to open unknown files, web pages and emails;
  3. Before opening the attachments and links in the email, confirm the legitimacy of sender and the content of the email;
  4. Check the file extension to avoid being misled by the file name; and
  5. Subscribe to the security bulletin on the HKCERT website for the latest information on system vulnerability and fixes.
     


Download Report

 

< Please click to download Hong Kong Security Watch Report >

 

 
 
 

Related Tags