跳至主內容

因蠕蟲引致電郵氾濫的處理方法

發佈日期: 2004年01月29日 4011 觀看次數

簡介

  1. 最新的電腦病毒懂得從受感染電腦硬碟收集電郵地址,並以這些地址作為收件者及寄件者,然後發出付有病毒的電郵,因此,追查發送病毒的源頭是十分困難的。同時,病毒電郵的寄件者亦變成受害者。
  2.  

  3. 很多公司都會安裝電腦病毒防護閘道,閘道會攔截受感染的電郵,並會向收件者及寄件者發出警告訊息。由於收件者及寄件者的電郵地址也是虛假的,因此發送警告訊息會對防毒無甚幫助,反而會帶來大量的垃圾郵件。

這些攻擊有可能會給網絡系統及電子郵件伺服器造成巨大負荷,引致使用者的電子郵箱爆滿及降低使用者的生產力。

此外,虛假寄件者的電郵地址會混淆蠕蟲的來源,亦會對那些根本沒有發送任何蠕蟲電郵的電子郵件帳戶持有人造成滋擾。

 

 

建議

    1. 安裝電腦病毒防護軟件及請更新病毒清單,是最有效地偵察及清除最新的病毒的方法。在病毒爆發的初期,由於很多用戶沒有更新他們的病毒清單,因此造成很高的感染率。請於更新你的病毒清單後掃描你的電腦。
    2.  

    3. 系統管理員能設定他們的電腦病毒防護閘道,暫時不傳送通知至寄件者的電郵地址,這能減低因為蠕蟲使用虛假郵址所引發,從電腦病毒防護閘道送出的垃圾郵件。
    4.  

    5. 系統管理員能設定他們的電腦病毒防護閘道,暫時不傳送通知至收件者的電郵地址。這個適用於收件者因為收到大量的通知電郵而影響到生產力的情況。
    6.  

    7. 對於某些在電郵伺服器上已安裝垃圾電郵過濾軟件的公司,倘若系統管理員能識別通知郵件的格式,可以設定他們的垃圾電郵過濾軟件去過濾這些通知郵件,從而減低電郵系統用戶所收到的垃圾電郵數量。
    8.  

    注意:在一般的情況下,電腦病毒防護閘道通知訊息是十分重要,因此只要過了蠕蟲爆發的高峰期,系統管理員應解除上面建議的 2.、 3. 及4. 的設定,重新接收電腦病毒防護閘道的通知訊息。

     

     

    24小時查詢熱線及事故報告,請聯絡:
    香港電腦保安事故協調中心
    電話:8105 6060
    傳真:8105 9760
    電郵:[email protected]
    網頁:http://www.hkcert.org/

Skip to main content

Handling Email Storm generated from Worms with Spoofed Sender

Release Date: 29 Jan 2004 5928 Views

Description

  1. Latest computer viruses employed email harvesting techniques to get email addresses from the victim's hard disk, and insert these email addresses in both the sender and recipient fields of the infected email and it is therefore difficult to trace the origin of the sender. The name of the sender appeared on the infected email is also a victim.
  2.  

  3. For companies that installed an anti-virus gateway, the gateway may intercept the infected email and send a warning message to both the sender and recipient. As both email addresses are spoofed, the warning messages are of little help to rectifying the situation but create a spamming effect to both parties.

The attacks could potentially impose a huge burden on the network infrastructure and the email servers. They also caused the mailboxes of users overloaded and lowered user productivity.

The spoofed sender email address confuses the receiver the source of worm email. It also caused nuisance to the email address owner of the spoofed address who did not send out any worm mail.

 

 

Recommendations

    1. Installing anti-virus software and to keep its virus definition file up-to-date is still the most effective means to detect and clean the latest virus. At the initial stage of outbreak of the virus, a lot of users did not update the virus definition file in time and caused a high rate of infection. Scan the computer after installing the latest virus definition file.
    2.  

    3. System Administrators can configure their anti-virus gateway configuration temporarily not to send notification messages to sender email address. It will minimize the spamming caused by spoofed worm email being sent out.
    4.  

    5. System Administrators can also configure their anti-virus gateway configuration temporarily not to send notification messages to receiver email address if the users received so many notifications that impact their productivity.
    6.  

    7. For companies have installed anti-spamming software on the email server, if the pattern of the spamming notification messages can be easily identified, system administrators can configure the anti-spamming software to filter these messages. This helps reducing spamming to the end-users of the email system.
    8.  

    Note: Since the notification messages to sender and receiver are useful in other cases, system administrators are reminded to remove settings in recommendations 2, 3 and 4 once the peak of the worm attack is past, so that they can receive their messages again.

     

     

    For 24-hour enquiries and incident reporting, please contact:
    Hong Kong Computer Emergency Response Team Coordination Centre (HKCERT)
    Tel : 8105 6060
    Fax : 8105 9760
    Email : [email protected]
    Web Page : http://www.hkcert.org/